In April 1970.

In April 1970, “MGM” label released “Eric Burdon Declares War”, the first Eric Burdon and War album. It was recorded in January 1970 at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jerry Goldstein. The album cover concept was by Eric Burdon and the design was by The Visual Thing.


  • Eric Burdon– lead vocals
  • Lee Oskar– harmonica
  • Charles Miller– tenor sax, flute
  • Howard Scott– guitar, backing vocals
  • Lonnie Jordan– organ, piano
  • Bee Bee Dickerson– bass, backing vocals
  • Harold Brown– drums
  • Dee Allen– conga, percussion
  • Chris Huston – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Papa Dee Allen, Harold Brown, Eric Burdon, B.B. Dickerson, Lonnie Jordan, Charles Miller, Lee Oskar and Howard E. Scott, except where noted.

  1. The Vision of Rassan
  • Dedication
  • Roll on Kirk
  1. Tobacco Road
  • Tobacco Road – John D. Loudermilk
  • I Have a Dream
  • Tobacco Road – John D. Loudermilk
  1. Spill the Wine
  2. Blues for Memphis Slim
  • Birth
  • Mother Earth – P. Chatman
  • Mr. Charlie
  • Danish Pastry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.