In March 1973.

In March 1973, “Asylum” label released “Closing Time”, the debut Tom Waits studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Sunset Sound Recorders” and “United Western Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Jerry Yester.


  • Tom Waits– vocals, piano, guitar, harmonium, harpsichord, celeste=
  • Shep Cooke – guitar, backing vocals
  • Peter Klimes – guitar, pedal steel guitar
  • Bill Plummer – double bass
  • Arni Egilsson – bass guitar
  • John Seiter– drums, backing vocals
  • Delbert Bennett – trumpet
  • Tony Terran– trumpet
  • Jesse Ehrlich – cello
  • Jerry Yester– engineer
  • Richie Moore – additional engineering
  • Cal Schenkel– artwork, design
  • Ed Caraeff– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Waits.

  1. Ol’ 55
  2. I Hope That I Don’t Fall in Love With You
  3. Virginia Avenue
  4. Old Shoes (& Picture Postcards)
  5. Midnight Lullaby
  6. Martha
  7. Rosie
  8. Lonely
  9. Ice Cream Man
  10. Little Trip Heaven (On the Wings of Your Love)
  11. Grapefruit Moon
  12. Closing Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.