In March 1968.


In March 1968, “Reprise” label released “Song to a Seagull”, the debut Joni Mitchell album. It was recorded in 1967, at “Sunset Sound” in Hollywood, and was produced by David Crosby.


  • Joni Mitchell – guitar, piano, vocals, album cover
  • Stephen Stills– bass
  • Lee Keefer – banshee
  • Art Crist – engineer
  • Ed Thrasher- art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Joni Mitchell.

I Came to the City

  1. I Had a King
  2. Michael from Mountains
  3. Night in the City
  4. Marcie
  5. Nathan La Franeer

Out of the City and Down to the Seaside

  1. Sisotowbell Lane
  2. The Dawntreader
  3. The Pirate of Penance
  4. Song to a Seagull
  5. Cactus Tree

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.