In January 1972.


In January 1972, “Reprise” label released “Into the Purple Valley”, the second Ry Cooder studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Jim Dickinson, Van Dyke Parks and Lenny Waronker. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album cover at number 12 on its list of the “100 Greatest Album Covers”.


  • Ry Cooder – guitar, bass, mandolin, vocals
  • Van Dyke Parks– keyboards
  • Gloria Jones– vocals
  • Claudia Lennear– vocals
  • George Bohanon– horns
  • John Craviotta – drums
  • Joe Lane Davis – horns
  • Jim Dickinson– piano
  • Chris Ethridge– bass
  • Milt Holland– percussion
  • Jerry Jumonville – saxophone
  • Fritz Richmond– bass
  • Donna Washburn – vocals
  • Donna Weiss– vocals
  • Ike Williams – horns

Track listing:

  1. How Can You Keep Moving (Unless You Migrate Too) – Agnes “Sis” Cunningham
  2. Billy the Kid – traditional; arranged by Ry Cooder
  3. Money Honey – Jesse Stone
  4. FDR in Trinidad – Fitz Maclean
  5. Teardrops Will Fall – Dickey Doo, Marion Smith
  6. Denomination Blues – George Washington Phillips
  7. On a Monday – Lead Belly
  8. Hey Porter – Johnny Cash
  9. Great Dream from Heaven – Joseph Spence
  10. Taxes on the Farmer Feeds Us Al – traditional; arranged by Ry Cooder
  11. Vigilante Man – Woody Guthrie



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s