In January 1972.


In January 1972, “Reprise” label released “The Spotlight Kid”, the sixth Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Don Van Vliet and Phil Schier.


  • Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) – vocals, harmonica, jingle bells
  • Drumbo(John French) – drums, percussion
  • Zoot Horn Rollo(Bill Harkleroad) – guitar, slide guitar
  • Rockette Morton(Mark Boston) – bass, guitar
  • Ed Marimba/Ted Cactus(Art Tripp) – drums, percussion,  marimba,  piano, harpsichord
  • Winged Eel Fingerling(Elliot Ingber) – guitar
  • Rhys Clark– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Don Van Vliet except where noted.

  1. I’m Gonna Booglarize You Baby
  2. White Jam
  3. Blabber in Smoke – Don Van Vliet, Jan Van Vliet
  4. When It Blows its Stacks
  5. Alice in Blunderland
  6. The Spotlight Kid
  7. Click Clack
  8. Grow Fins
  9. There Ain’t No Santa Claus on the Evenin’ Stage
  10. Glider

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.