On January 11, 2010.


On January 11, 2010, “XL Recordings” label released “Contra”, the second Vampire Weekend album. It was recorded in 2009, and was produced by Rostam Batmanglij.


  • Ezra Koenig – lead vocals, guitar, keyboard, piano, programming
  • Rostam Batmanglij– piano; background vocals; vocal harmonies; keyboards; harpsichord; VSS-30; drum; synth; sampler programming; lead vocals; guitar,  shakers; hand drum; snares, mixer, audio engineer
  • Christopher Tomson– drums
  • Chris Baio– bass; background vocals; additional synth
  • Mauro Refosco– marimbas, rebolo, zabumba, shekere, shakers, auxiliary percussion
  • Marcus Farrar – shekere, auxiliary percussion
  • Libby Gery – background vocals
  • Anne Donlon – background vocals
  • Nat Baldwin– double bass
  • Jonathan Chu – violin, viola
  • Hamilton Berry – cello
  • Seth Rosenfeld – cello
  • Jesse Novak – additional instrumentation
  • Jeff Curtin – hand drums, shakers
  • Shane Stoneback – shaker, mixing assistant, audio engineer
  • Justin Gerrish – mixer
  • Fernando Lodeiro – engineering assistant
  • Tito Fuentes – audio engineer

Track listing:

All lyrics by Ezra Koenig except where noted; all music Ezra Koenig, Rostam Batmanglij, Christopher Tomson, Chris Baio and Mauro Refosco, by except where noted.

  1. Horchata
  2. White Sky
  3. Holiday
  4. California English
  5. Taxi Cab – music: Ezra Koenig, Rostam Batmanglij
  6. Run
  7. Cousins
  8. Giving Up the Gun
  9. Diplomat’s Son – Ezra Koenig, Rostam Batmanglij
  10. I Think Ur a Contra – music: Ezra Koenig,Rostam Batmanglij

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.