In December 1968.


In December 1968, “Ode Records” label released “The Family That Plays Together”, the second Spirit album. It was recorded March -September, 1968, and was produced by Lou Adler and Bob Irwin.


  • Jay Ferguson- lead vocals, keyboards, percussion
  • Randy California – lead and backing vocals, guitar, bass
  • John Locke– keyboards
  • Mark Andes- bass, backing vocals
  • Ed Cassidy- drums, percussion
  • Marty Paich- horn arrangements, string arrangements
  • Armin Stiener – engineer
  • Adam Block – project director
  • Tom Wilkes – art direction
  • Guy Webster – photography

Track listing:

All songs by Jay Ferguson except where noted.

  1. I Got a Line on You – Randy California
  2. It Shall Be – Randy California, John Locke
  3. Poor Richard
  4. Silky Sam
  5. The Drunkard
  6. Darlin’ If – Randy California
  7. All the Same – Randy California, Ed Cassidy
  8. Jewish – Randy California
  9. Dream within a Dream
  10. She Smiled
  11. Aren’t You Glad
  12. Fog – Randy California, John Locke
  13. So Little To Say
  14. Mellow Fellow – John Lock
  15. Now Or Anywhere
  16. Space Chile – John Locke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.