On December 6, 1968.


On December 6, 1968, “Apple” label released the self-titled, debut James Taylor album. It was recorded July – October 1968, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Asher. It was the first recording by a non-British artist released by “Apple” label, and would also be Taylor’s only release on that label.


  • James Taylor– vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, percussion
  • Mick Wayne– guitar
  • Freddie Redd– keyboards
  • Don Shinn– keyboards
  • Paul McCartney– bass
  • Louis Cennamo– bass
  • Bishop O’Brien – drums, percussion
  • Peter Asher– vocals, percussion
  • Richard Hewson– strings, bassoon, oboe
  • Skaila Kanga – harp

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Don’t Talk Now
  2. Something’s Wrong
  3. Knocking ‘Round the Zoo
  4. Sunshine Sunshine
  5. Taking It In
  6. Something in the Way She Moves
  7. Carolina in My Mind
  8. Brighten Your Night With My Day
  9. Night Owl
  10. Rainy Day Man – James Taylor, Zach Wiesner
  11. Circle Round the Sun – traditional arr. James Taylor
  12. Blues Is Just a Bad Dream

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.