On October 11, 1977.


On October 11, 1977, “Kirshner” label released “Point of Know Return”, the fifth Kansas studio album. It was recorded June–July 1977, at “Woodland Sound” in Nashville, Tennessee, and “Studio in the Country” in Bogalusa, Louisiana, and was produced by Jeff Glixman


  • Steve Walsh– lead and backing vocals, organ, synthesizers, vibraphone, piano,, additional percussion, arranger, art concept
  • Robby Steinhardt– lead and backing vocals, violins, viola, arranger, art concept
  • Kerry Livgren– synthesizers, piano, clavinet, acoustic and electric guitars, additional percussion, arranger, art concept
  • Rich Williams– acoustic and electric guitars, pedals, arranger, art concept
  • Dave Hope– bass, arranger, art concept
  • Phil Ehart– drums, timpani, chimes, additional percussion, arranger, art concept
  • Terry Becker, Jeff Glixman – engineer
  • George Marino – mastering
  • Tom Drennon – art direction
  • Rod Dyer – design
  • Peter Lloyd – artwork
  • Bob Maile – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Kerry Livgren and Steve Walsh except where noted.

  1. Point of Know Return – Phil Ehart, Robby Steinhardt, Steve Walsh
  2. Paradox
  3. The Spider – Steve Walsh
  4. Portrait (He Knew)
  5. Closet Chronicles
  6. Lightning’s Hand
  7. Dust in the Wind – Kerry Livgren
  8. Sparks of the Tempest
  9. Nobody’s Home
  10. Hopelessly Human – Kerry Livgren


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.