On October 5, 1973.


On October 5, 1973, “Deram” label released “For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night” the fifth Caravan studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Tolling Park Studios”; “Chipping Norton Recording Studios”; “Decca Studios” in West Hampstead, and was produced by David Hitchcock.


  • Pye Hastings – vocals, guitar
  • David Sinclair– organ, piano, electric piano, Davoli synthesizer, A.R.P. synthesizer
  • Rupert Hine– A.R.P. synthesizer
  • John G. Perry – vocals, bass, percussion
  • Richard Coughlan– drums, percussion, timpani
  • Frank Ricotti– congas
  • Tony Coe– clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Pete King– flute, alto saxophone
  • Tom Whittle– clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Harry Klein – clarinet, baritone saxophone
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • Jimmy Hastings– flute
  • Chris Pyne– trombone
  • Barry Robinson – piccolo
  • Geoff Richardson– viola
  • Paul Buckmaster– electric cello
  • Jill Pryor – voice
  • John Bell – arrangements
  • Martyn Ford – arrangements, conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Pye Hastings, except where noted.

  1. Memory Lain, Hugh / Headloss
  2. Hoedown
  3. Surprise, Surprise
  4. C’thlu Thlu
  5. The Dog, The Dog, He’s at It Again
  6. Be All Right / Chance of a Lifetime
  7. L’Auberge du Sanglier / A Hunting We Shall Go / Pengola / Backwards / A Hunting We Shall Go (reprise) – John G. Perry, Mike Ratledge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.