On October 4, 2005.


On October 4, 2005, “ATO” label released “Z” the fourth My Morning Jacket studio album. It was recorded in 2005, at “Allaire Studios” in Shokan, New York, and was produced by John Leckie and  Jim James. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 457 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”; and on number 31st on its list of the “100 Best Albums of the 2000s”, and 23rd of the “40 Greatest Stoner Albums Ever”.


  • Jim James– vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
  • Carl Broemel– guitar
  • Bo Koster– keyboards
  • Tom Blankenship– bass guitar
  • Patrick Hallahan– drums
  • Ward– acoustic guitar, choirs
  • Andrew Bird– strings, whistles
  • Katie Beach
  • Guy Burwel
  • Nicolai Denchev
  • Mike Fulkerson
  • Brandon Jones
  • Kathleen Lolley

 Track listing:

All tracks by Jim James, except where noted:

  1. Wordless Chorus
  2. It Beats 4 U
  3. Gideon
  4. What a Wonderful Man
  5. Off the Record – Jim James, Tom Blankenship, Patrick Hallahan
  6. Into the Woods
  7. Anytime
  8. Lay Low
  9. Knot Comes Loose
  10. Dondante

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.