On September 15, 1967.


On September 15, 1967, “Pye” label released “Something Else by The Kinks” (Something Else), the fifth Kinks album. It was recorded April 1966 – July 1967, at “Pye Studios” in London, and was produced by Shal Talmy and Ray Davies. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 288 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Ray Davies– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica, harp, harpsichord, organ, tuba, maracas
  • Dave Davies– lead and backing vocals, lead guitar, 12 string guitar
  • Pete Quaife– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Mick Avory– drums, percussion
  • Nicky Hopkins– keyboards, piano
  • Rasa Davies – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Ray Davies, except where noted.

  1. David Watts
  2. Death of a Clown – Dave Davies, Ray Davies
  3. Two Sisters
  4. No Return
  5. Harry Rag
  6. Tin Soldier Man
  7. Situation Vacant
  8. Love Me Till the Sun Shines – Dave Davies
  9. Lazy Old Sun
  10. Afternoon Tea
  11. Funny Face
  12. End of the Season
  13. Waterloo Sunset

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.