On September 10, 1974.


On September 10, 1974, “Reprise” label released “Good Old Boys”, the fifth Randy Newman album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Warner Bros. Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lenny Waronker and Russ Titelman. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 393 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Randy Newman – vocals, acoustic and electric pianos, synthesizer, arranger, conductor
  • Ry Cooder- bottleneck guitar
  • John Platania- electric guitar
  • Ron Elliott- acoustic guitar
  • Dennis Budimir- acoustic guitar
  • Al Perkins – pedal steel guitar
  • Russ Titelman – bass
  • Willie Weeks – bass
  • Red Callender – bass
  • Jim Keltner – drums
  • Andy Newmark – drums
  • Bobbye Hall Porter – percussion
  • Milt Holland – drums, percussion
  • Glenn Frey – backing vocals
  • Don Henley- backing vocals
  • Bernie Leadon – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman except where noted.

  1. Rednecks
  2. Birmingham
  3. Marie
  4. President (Have Pity on the Working Man)
  5. Guilty
  6. Louisiana 1927
  7. Every Man a King – Huey Long, Castro Carazo
  8. Kingfish
  9. Naked Man
  10. Wedding in Cherokee County
  11. Back on My Feet Again
  12. Rollin’


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.