On August 26, 2002.


On August 26, 2002, “Parlaphone” label released “A Rush of Blood to the Head”, the second Coldplay studio album. It was recorded September 2001 – May 2002, and was produced by Ken Nelson, Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman  and Will Cha,pion. In 2002, at the “Q Awards” the album was awarded “Best Album”. In 2003, the album won Coldplay “Grammy Awards” for “Best Alternative Album” and for “Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal” for the song “In My Place”, and was voted “Best British Album” at the “BRIT Awards”. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “A Rush of Blood to the Head” at number 466 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 7 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; Platinum in Austria by “IFPI”; 4 x Platinum in Brazil by “ABPD”; Platinum in Italy by “FIMI”; Platinum in Mexico by “AMPROFON”; Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”; 4 x Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; 9 x Platinum in the UK by the “BPI” and 4 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Chris Martin– lead vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitar, string arrangements, mixing, art direction
  • Jonny Buckland– acoustic and electric guitar, string arrangements, mixing, art direction
  • Guy Berryman– bass guitar, string arrangements, mixing, art direction
  • Will Champion– drums, percussion, harmony vocals, string arrangements, art direction
  • Ann Lines – string performer
  • Laura Melhewish – string performer
  • Leo Payne – string performer
  • Susan Dench – string performer
  • Chris Tombling – string performer
  • Dan Green – string performer
  • Peter Lale – string performer
  • Richard George – string performer
  • Audrey Riley– string arranger and performer
  • Ken Nelson– engineer, mixing
  • Jon Bailey – assistant engineer
  • Jon Withnal – assistant engineer
  • Ben Thackeray – assistant engineer
  • Andrea Wright – assistant engineer
  • Rik Simpson– additional engineering
  • Danton Supple – mixing
  • George Marino– mastering
  • Mark Phythian – additional production, mixing
  • Blue Source – art direction
  • Sølve Sundsbø – cover art
  • Tom Sheehan – photographer
  • Zed Nelson – photographer

Track listing:

]All tracks by Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman, and Will Champion.

  1. Politik
  2. In My Place
  3. God Put a Smile upon Your Face
  4. The Scientist
  5. Clocks
  6. Daylight
  7. Green Eyes
  8. Warning Sign
  9. A Whisper
  10. A Rush of Blood to the Head
  11. Amsterdam



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.