On July 27, 1987.


On July 27, 1987, “4AD” label released “Within the Realm of a Dying Sun”, the third Dead Can Dance studio album. It was recorded April – May 1987, at “Woodbine Studios” in Warwickshire, England, and was produced by Brendan Perry, Lisa Gerrard and John A. Rivers. The album cover photograph was taken in Paris, at the family grave of François-Vincent Raspail at Père-Lachaise cemetery.


  • Lisa Gerrard– vocals, various instruments
  • Brendan Perry– vocals, various instruments, design
  • Peter Ulrich– timpani, military snare
  • Ruth Watson – oboe
  • Gus Ferguson – cello
  • Tony Gamage – cello
  • John Singleton – trombone
  • Richard Avison – trombone
  • Andrew Claxton – bass trombone, tuba
  • Mark Gerrard – trumpet
  • Piero Gasparini – viola
  • Alison Harling – violin
  • Emlyn Singleton – violin
  • John A. Rivers – engineer
  • Francisco Cabeza – engineer
  • Bernard Oudin – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry.

  1. Anywhere Out of the World
  2. Windfall
  3. In the Wake of Adversity
  4. Xavier
  5. Dawn of the Iconoclast
  6. Cantara
  7. Summoning of the Muse
  8. Persephone (The Gathering of Flowers)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.