On June 23, 2009.


On June 23, 2009, “Roadrunner Records” label released “Black Clouds & Silver Linings”, the tenth Dream Theater studio album. It was recorded October 2008 – March 2009, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, and was produced by John Petrucci and Mike Portnoy.


  • James LaBrie– lead vocals
  • John Petrucci– guitar, backing vocals
  • Jordan Rudess– keyboards, continuum, lap steel guitar
  • John Myung– bass
  • Mike Portnoy – co-lead and backing vocals, drums, percussion
  • Jerry Goodman- violin
  • Paul Northfield– engineer, mixing, vocal track co-producer
  • Hugh Syme– art direction, design, illustrations
  • Dr Rick Kwan – engineer assistant
  • Dan Mandell – photography

Track listing:

All music by John Petrucci, Mike Portnoy, John Myung and Jordan Rudess except where noted.

  1. A Nightmare to Remember – lyrics by John Petrucci
  2. A Rite of Passage – lyrics by John Petrucci
  3. Wither – music and lyrics by John Petrucci
  4. The Shattered Fortress – lyrics by Mike Portnoy
  • X. Restraint
  • XI. Receive
  • XII. Responsible
  1. The Best of Times – lyrics Mike Portnoy
  2. The Count of Tuscany – lyrics by John Petrucci

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.