On June 21, 1988.


On June 21, 1988, “Virgin” label released “Roll With It”, the fifth Stevie Winwood solo studio album. It was recorded 1978 – 1988, at “Windmill Lane” in Dublin and “McClear Place” in Toronto, and was produced by Steve Winwood and Tom Lord-Alge.


  • Steve Winwood: lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, guitar, piano, drums, keyboards, Hammond organ, Moog bass, Minimoogsolo, Fairlight programming
  • Paul Pesco: guitar
  • Robbie Kilgore: keyboards
  • Mike Lawler: keyboards
  • John “J.R.” Robinson: drums
  • Jimmy Bralower: percussion, drum machine
  • Bashiri Johnson: percussion
  • Andrew Love: tenor sax
  • Wayne Jackson: trombone, trumpet
  • The Memphis Horns: horn arrangements
  • Mark Williamson: background vocals
  • Tessa Niles: background vocals
  • Tom Lord-Alge: tambourine, producer, engineer, mixing
  • Jeff Lord-Alge: assistant engineer
  • Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff: art direction
  • Lee Charteris: production coordination
  • John Clarke: executive producer
  • Mick Haggerty: art direction, design
  • Ted Jensen: mastering at Sterling Sound
  • Mary Kettle: assistant engineer
  • Herb Ritts: photography
  • Paul Shubat: assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Winwood and Will Jennings except where noted

  1. Roll with It – Stevie Winwood, Jennings, Holland-Dozier-Holland
  2. Holding On
  3. The Morning Side
  4. Put on Your Dancing ShoesDon’t You Know What the Night Can Do?
  5. Hearts on Fire – Stevie Winwood, Jim Capaldi
  6. One More Morning
  7. Shining Song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.