On June 18, 1984.

Goodbye Cruel World

On June 18, 1984, “F-Beat Records” label released “Goodbye Cruel World”, the ninth Elvis Costello album overall and the eighth with The Attractions. It was recorded in February 1984, at “Sarm West Studios” in London, and was produced by Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitars
  • Daryl Hall– vocals
  • Green Gartside– vocal
  • Steve Nieve– keyboards
  • Bruce Thomas– bass guitar
  • Pete Thomas– drums
  • Luis Jardim– percussion
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophones
  • Jim Paterson –trombone

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello, except where noted.

  1. The Only Flame in Town
  2. Home Truth
  3. Room with No Number
  4. Inch By Inch
  5. Worthless Thing
  6. Love Field
  7. I Wanna Be Loved – Farnell Jenkins
  8. The Comedians
  9. Joe Porterhouse
  10. Sour Milk-Cow Blues
  11. The Great Unknown – Elvis Costello,Clive Langer
  12. The Deportees Club
  13. Peace in Our Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.