On June 9, 1998.


On June 9, 1998, “Projekt Records” label released “The Devil’s Bris” the debut Voltaire album. It was recorded in 1998, at “Unique Recording” in New York City, and was produced by Richard Fortus. The album’s title is from the juxtaposition of the figure of the devil and the Jewish  circumcision ritual, the bris milah.


  • Voltaire – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Gregor Kitzis – violin
  • Matthew Goeke – cello
  • Grisha Alexiev – drums
  • George Evageliou, Tom Cadley – engineer
  • Adam Abeshouse – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Voltaire, except where noted.

  1. Ex-Lover’s Lover
  2. Anniversary
  3. Parade
  4. The Man Upstairs
  5. They Know Me
  6. Owee
  7. Snakes
  8. Ravens Land
  9. The Chosen
  10. All the Way Down
  11. When You’re Evil
  12. Shalom – traditional Jewish song

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.