On June 1, 1972.

The Eagles

On June 1, 1972, “Asylum” label released the debut, self-titled Eagles album. It was recorded in February 1972, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Glyn Johns. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 368 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”. The single “Take It Easy” is part of the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” of the “500 Songs That Shaped Rock and Roll”. In March 2001, the album was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Glenn Frey– vocals, guitars, slide guitar
  • Don Henley– vocals, drums
  • Bernie Leadon– vocals, guitars, banjo
  • Randy Meisner– vocals, bass guitar
  • Glyn Johns– engineer
  • Gary Burden– art direction, design
  • Henry Diltz– photography

Track listing:

  1. Take it Easy – Jackson Browne, Glenn Frey
  2. Witchy Woman – Don Henley, Bernie Leadon
  3. Chug All Night – Glenn Frey
  4. Most of Us Are Sad – Glenn Frey
  5. Nightingale – Jackson Browne
  6. Train Leaves Here This Morning – Gene Clark, Bernie Leadon
  7. Take the Devil – Randy Meisner
  8. Earlybird – Bernie Leadon, Randy Meisner
  9. Peaceful Easy Feeling – Jack Tempchin
  10. Tryin’ – Randy Meisner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.