On May 28, 1971.

Songs for beginnersgn

On May 28, 1971, “Atlantic” label released “Songs for Beginners”, debut Graham Nash album.  It was recorded 1970-1971, at “Wally Heiders Studio III” in Los Angeles, “Studio C” in San Francisco, and was produced by Graham Nash.


  • Graham Nash — vocals, guitar, piano, organ, paper and comb; tambourine, photography
  • Dave Mason— electric guitar
  • David Crosby— electric guitar
  • Jerry Garcia— pedal steel guitar, piano
  • Joel Bernstein— piano
  • Rita Coolidge — piano, electric piano, backing vocals
  • Joe Yankee— piano
  • Sermon Posthumas — bass clarinet
  • Chris Ethridge— bass
  • Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuels— bass
  • Phil Lesh— bass
  • Dallas Taylor— drums
  • Johnny Barbata— drums,  tambourine
  • David Lindley— fiddle
  • Bobby Keys— saxophone
  • Dorian Rudnytsky— cello
  • P. Arnold— backing vocals
  • Venetta Fields, Sherlie Matthews, Clydie King, Dorothy Morrison — backing vocals
  • Bill Halverson, Russ Gary, Larry Cox — recording
  • Doug Sax– mastering
  • Gary Burden— art direction
  • Joel Bernstein — photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Graham Nash, except where noted.

  1. Military Madness
  2. Better Days
  3. Wounded Bird
  4. I Used to Be a King
  5. Be Yourself – Graham Nash, Terry Reid
  6. Simple Man
  7. Man in the Mirror
  8. There’s Only One
  9. Sleep Song
  10. Chicago
  11. We Can Change the World

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.