On May 20, 1997.


On May 20, 1997, “Columbia” label released “Hourglass” the fourteenth James Taylor studio album. It was recorded December 1996, at “Chalker’s Creek” in Massachusetts, “Westlake Audio”  in Hollywood,  “Right Track Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Frank Filipetti and James Taylor. The album won “Grammy Award” for “Best Pop Album” in 1998.


  • James Taylor – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Stevie Wonder– harmonica
  • Michael Brecker– tenor saxophone, EWI
  • Clifford Carter– keyboards
  • Bobby Mann – guitar
  • Ross Traut – guitar
  • Dan Dugmore– pedal steel guitar
  • Jill Dell’Abate – vocals
  • David Lasley– vocals
  • Kate Markowitz– vocals
  • Arnold McCuller– vocals
  • Valerie Carter– vocals
  • Shawn Colvin– vocals
  • Sting– vocals
  • Edgar Meyer – bass
  • Jimmy Johnson– bass
  • Carlos Vega – drums
  • Luis Conte– percussion
  • Yo-Yo Ma– cello
  • Branford Marsalis– soprano and alto saxophones
  • Mark O’Connor– fiddle
  • Ed Rockett- penny whistle
  • Ted Jensen – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Line ‘Em Up
  2. Enough to Be on Your Way
  3. Little More Time with You
  4. Gaia
  5. Ananas
  6. Jump Up Behind Me
  7. Another Day
  8. Up Er Mei
  9. Up from Your Life
  10. Yellow and Rose
  11. Boatman – Livingston Taylor, M. Taylor
  12. Walking My Baby Back Home – Fred E. Ahlert, Roy Turk
  13. Hangnail

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.