On May 19, 1988.

Rufus Wainwright

On May 19, 1988, “DreamWorks” label released the self-titled, debut Rufus Wainwright album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, and was produced by Jon Brion and Pierre Marchand. “Rolling Stone” magazine named Wainwright the “Best New Artist of 1998”.


  • Rufus Wainwright– lead vocals and backing vocals, piano, chamberlin, tack piano, acoustic guitar, castanets, half-speed piano, humming
  • Jon Brion– chamberlin, accordion, marimba, vibes , bass, optigan,  acoustic, baritone and electric guitar, percussion, timpani, crotales, celeste, temple blocks, assorted bells, tuned toms, mandolin, drums, tack piano, backing vocals
  • Benmont Tench –piano, Hammond organ
  • Yves Desrosiers – guitar,slide bass
  • Glen Hollman –upright, mandolin bass
  • Pierre Marchand– bass, keyboards
  • Ash Sood – drums , percussion
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Randy Brion – horn arrangement, conductor
  • Van Dyke Parks– string arrangement, conductor
  • Martha Wainwright– backing vocals
  • Marty Grebb –alto saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Rufus Wainwright.

  1. Foolish Love
  2. Danny Boy
  3. April Fools
  4. In My Arms
  5. Millbrook
  6. Baby
  7. Beauty Mark
  8. Barcelona
  9. Matinee Idol
  10. Damned Ladies
  11. Sally Ann
  12. Imaginary Love

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.