On May 19, 1986.

Peter_Gabriel - So

On May 19, 1986, “Charisma” label released “So”, the fifth Peter Gabriel album. It was recorded February – December 1985, at “Ashcombe House” in Bath, and was produced by Peter Gabriel and Daniel Lanois. “So” was certified 3 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI’ and 5 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 187 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Peter Gabriel– lead and backing vocals, Fairlight CMI, Sequential Circuits Prophet-5  piano, Linn LM-1, synthesizer, percussion, Yamaha CS-80, LinnDrum , Synclavier
  • Tony Levin– bass guitar , drumstick bass guitar
  • David Rhodes– guitar, backing vocals
  • Jerry Marotta– drums, drumstick bass guitar
  • Manu Katché– drums, percussion, talking drum
  • Chris Hughes– Linn Drum programming
  • Stewart Copeland– hi-hat, drums
  • Daniel Lanois– guitar, tambourine, surf guitar, 12-string guitar
  • Wayne Jackson– trumpet, cornet
  • Mark Rivera– tenor saxophone processed saxophone,  alto and baritone saxophone
  • Don Mikkelsen –trombone
  • P. Arnold– backing vocals
  • Coral Gordon – backing vocals
  • Dee Lewis – backing vocals
  • Richard Tee– piano
  • Simon Clark –Yamaha CS-80 chorus effect, Hammond, Fairlight CMI and bass
  • Kate Bush– vocals
  • Shankar– violin
  • Larry Klein– bass guitar
  • Youssou N’Dour– vocals
  • Michael Been– backing vocals
  • Jim Kerr– backing vocals
  • Ronnie Bright– bass vocals
  • Jimmy Bralower – Linn Drum kick
  • Bill Laswell– bass guitar
  • Nile Rodgers– guitar
  • Laurie Anderson– vocals
  • Djalma Correa –surdo, congas and triangle

Track lsiting:

All tracks by Peter Gabriel, except where noted.

  1. Red Rain
  2. Sledgehammer
  3. Don’t Give Up
  4. That Voice Adain – Peter Gabriel, David Rhodes
  5. In Your Eyes
  6. Mercy Street
  7. Big Time
  8. We Do What We’re Told (Milgram’s 37)
  9. This is the Picture (Excellent Birds)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.