On May 3, 1971.

Leon Russell And The Shelter People

On May 3, 1971, “Shelter” label released “Leon Russell and the Shelter People”, the second Leon Russell solo album. It was recorded August – December, 1970 and January 1971, and was produced by Leon Russell and Denny Cordell.


  • Leon Russell – vocals, guitar, piano, organ
  • Claudia Lennear– vocals
  • Kathi McDonald– vocals
  • Joey Cooper – vocals, guitar
  • Don Preston – vocals, guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson– guitar
  • Jesse Ed Davis– guitar
  • Chris Stainton– guitar
  • Jim Price – organ
  • Barry Beckett– organ
  • John Gallie – organ
  • Carl Radle– bass guitar
  • David Hood– bass guitar
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • Chuck Blackwell – drums
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Nick DeCaro – string arrangements
  • Terry Manning– Moog programmer, engineer
  • Glyn Johns– engineer
  • Andy Johns– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Leon Russell, except where noted.

  1. Stranger in a Strange Land – Leon Russell, Don Preston
  2. Of Thee I Sing – Leon Russell, Don Preston
  3. A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna Fall – Bob Dylan
  4. Crystal Closet Queen
  5. Home Sweet Oklahoma
  6. Alcatraz
  7. The Ballad of Mad Dogs and Englishmen
  8. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry – Bob Dylan
  9. She Smiles Like a River
  10. Sweet Emily
  11. Beware of Darkness – George Harrison

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.