On April 30, 1971.

Smiling Men

On April 30, 1971, “Island” label released “Smiling Men with Bad Reputations”, the debut Mike Heron solo album. It was recorded December 1970, at “Sound Techniques” in Chelsea, London, and was produced by Joy Boyd.


  • Mike Heron – guitar, keyboards
  • John Cale – vocals, bass, guitar, harmonium, piano, viola
  • Tony Cox – VCS3 synthesizer
  • Richard Thompson- guitar
  • Pete Townshend- guitar
  • Simon Nicol- guitar
  • Ronnie Lane- bass
  • Rose Simpson- bass
  • Pat Donaldson – bass
  • Dave Pegg- bass
  • Gerry Conway- drums
  • Mike Kowalski – drums
  • Dave Mattacks- drums
  • Keith Moon- drums
  • Malcolm Le Maistre- clarinet
  • Dudu Pukwana- saxophone, piano
  • Liza Strike – vocals
  • Heather Wood – vocals
  • Sue Glover- vocals
  • Sunny Leslie- vocals
  • Strangely Strange- backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Heron.

  1. Call Me Diamond
  2. Flowers of the Forest
  3. Audrey
  4. Brindaban
  5. Feast of Stephen
  6. Spirit Beautiful
  7. Warm Heart Pastry
  8. Beautiful Stranger
  9. No Turning Back

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.