On April 29, 1985.


On April 29, 1985, “RCA” label release “Be Yourself Tonight”, the fifth Eurythmics album. It was recorded in January 1985, and was produced by David A. Stewart.


  • Annie Lennox – vocals, keyboards, keyboard sequencers, keyboard programming
  • David A. Stewart – electric and slide guitars , 6-string octave guitar, keyboards, sequencers, bass sequencer, drum programming, mixing
  • Mike Campbell– guitar
  • Benmont Tench– organ
  • Stevie Wonder– harmonica
  • Dean Garcia– bass guitar, wood stomping
  • Nathan East– bass guitar
  • Olle Romo– drums, wood stomping
  • Stan Lynch– drums
  • Dave Plews – trumpet
  • Martin Dobson – saxophones
  • Sadie (and other uncredited performers) – gravel stomping
  • Michael Kamen– strings , celeste, keyboard
  • Aretha Franklin– vocals
  • Angel Cross – backing vocals
  • The Charles Williams Singers – backing vocals, gospel choir
  • Elvis Costello– harmony vocals
  • Shelly Yakus – recording
  • Don Smith – engineer, mixing
  • Adam Williams – , drum programming, engineer, mixing
  • Jay Willis – assistant engineer
  • Stephen Marcussen – mastering
  • Laurence Stevens – art direction, design
  • Paul Fortune – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Annie Lennox and David A. Stewart, except where noted.

  1. Would I Lie To You
  2. There Must Be an Angel (Playing With My Heart)
  3. I Love You Like a Ball and Chain
  4. Sisters Are Doin’ It for Themselves
  5. Conditioned Soul
  6. Adrian
  7. It’s Alright (Baby’s Coming Back)
  8. Here Comes That Sinking Feeling
  9. Better to Have Lost in Love (Than Never to Have Loved at All)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.