On April 10, 1970.


On April 10, 1970, “DJM” label released the second self-titled Elton John album. It was recorded in January 1970, at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. This was John’s first album released in US,  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 468 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”. On 27 November 2012, it was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame” as an album cited as exhibiting “qualitative or historical significance”.


  • Elton John– vocals, piano,  harpsichord
  • Colin Green – guitars, Spanish guitar
  • Roland Harker – guitar
  • Clive Hicks – acoustic guitar, rhythm guitar, twelve-string guitar
  • Alan Parker– rhythm guitar
  • Caleb Quaye– lead guitar, additional guitars
  • Brian Dee– organ
  • Diana Lewis – Moog synthesizer
  • Frank Clark – acoustic bass, acoustic guitar
  • Les Hurdle – bass guitar
  • Dave Richmond – bass guitar
  • Alan Weighall – bass guitar
  • Barry Morgan– drums
  • Terry Cox– drums
  • Dennis Lopez – percussion
  • Tex Navarra – percussion
  • David Katz – violin
  • Paul Buckmaster– cello solo
  • Skaila Kanga– harp
  • Barbara Moore – backing vocals, choir leader
  • Madeline Bell– backing vocals
  • Tony Burrows– backing vocals
  • Roger Cook– backing vocals
  • Lesley Duncan– backing vocals
  • Kay Garner – backing vocals
  • Tony Hazzard– backing vocals
  • Paul Buckmaster – arranger
  • David Katz – orchestra contractor
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable – engineer
  • Gus Skinas – editing
  • David Larkham – art direction
  • Gus Dudgeon, John Tobler – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

  1. Your Song
  2. I Need You to Turn To
  3. Take Me to the Pilot
  4. No Shoe Strings on Louise
  5. First Episode at Hienton
  6. Sixty Years On
  7. Border Song
  8. The Greatest Discovery
  9. The Cage
  10. The King Must Die

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.