On April 7, 1997.


On April 7, 1997, “Virgin” label released “Dig Your Own Hole”, the second Chemical Brothers studio album. It was recorded 1996 – 1997, at “Orinoco Studios” in London, and was produced by Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons. In 1998,  “Q”  magazine  readers voted “Dig Your Own Hole” the 49th greatest album of all time, and in 2000, placed it at number 42 in its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”. In 2014,  NME magazine ranked the album at number 414 in its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Ed Simons – performer
  • Tom Rowlands – performer
  • John Dee – engineer
  • Steve Dub – engineer
  • Tim Holmes – engineer
  • Jon Collyer – engineer assistant
  • Cheeky Paul – mastering, editing
  • Negativespace – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Ed Simons and Tom Rowlands, except where noted.

  1. Block Rockin’ Beats – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Jesse Weaver
  2. Dig Your Own Hole
  3. Elektrobank – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Keith Murray
  4. Piku
  5. Setting Sun – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Noel Gallagher
  6. It Doesn’t Matter – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Paul Conley, John Emelin, Tom Flye, Rusty Ford, Kim King
  7. Don’t Stop the Rock – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Tony Butler
  8. Get Up on it Like This – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Quincy Jones
  9. Lost in the K-Hole
  10. Where Do I Begin
  11. The Private Psychedelic Reel – Tom Rowlands, Ed Simons, Jonathan Donahue



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.