On April 2, 1991.

Word of mouth

On April 2, 1991, “Atlantic” label released “Word of Mouth”, the third Mike + The Mechanics album. It was recorded 1990 – 1991, at “The Farm” in Surrey, and was produced by Christopher Neil, Mike Rutherford and Russ Titelman.


  • Mike Rutherford– guitar, bass
  • Paul Carrack– vocals, keyboards
  • Paul Young– vocals
  • Peter Van Hooke– drums
  • Adrian Lee– keyboards
  • Tim Renwick– guitar
  • Ian Wherry – keyboards
  • Steve Piggot – keyboards
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Pino Palladino– bass
  • Phil Todd – sax
  • London Community Gospel Choir– choir
  • Kitson Hall Audience – crowd

Track listing:

  1. Get Up – Mike Rutherford, Paul Carrack
  2. Word of Mouth – Mike Rutherford, Christopher Neil
  3. A Time and Place – Mike Rutherford, B. A. Robertson
  4. Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow – Mike Rutherford, B.A.Robertson
  5. The Way You Look at Me – Mike Rutherford, Paul Carrack
  6. Everybody Gets a Second Chance – Mike Rutherford, A.Robertson
  7. Stop Baby – Mike Rutherford, Christoper Neil
  8. My Crime of Passion – Mike Rutherford, Paul Carrack, Adrian Lee
  9. Let’s Pretend It Didn’t Happen – Mike Rutherford, B. A. Robertson
  10. Before (The Next Heartache Falls) – Mike Rutherford, Paul Carrack

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.