On March 26, 1985.

Tom Petty-Southern Accents

On March 26, 1985, “MCA” label released “Southern Accents”, the sixthTom Petty and the Heartbreakers album. It was recorded 1983–1985, at “Gone Gator One”, “Sound City”, “Village Recorder” and “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles and “Church Studio” in London, and was produced by Tom Petty, Jimmy Iovine, Mike Campbell, David A. Stewart and Robbie Robertson, The album cover features an 1865 painting by Winslow Homer titled “The Veteran in a New Field”


  • Tom Petty– vocals, guitars, bass guitar, piano, keyboards, percussion,
  • Mike Campbell – vocals, guitar, slide guitar, bass guitar, dobro, keyboards,
  • Benmont Tench – vocals, piano, keyboards, electric piano, vibraphone
  • Stan Lynch– vocals, drums, percussion, keyboards
  • Howie Epstein– vocals, harmony vocals, bass guitar
  • Garth Hudson– keyboards
  • David A. Stewart– vocals, bass, guitar, keyboards, sitar
  • Ron Blair– bass
  • Dean Garcia– bass
  • Bobbye Hall– percussion
  • Jim Keltner– percussion
  • Phil Jones – percussion
  • Greg Smith – vocals, horn, saxophone, baritone saxophone
  • Jim Coile – vocals, tenor saxophone, horn, sound effects
  • Malcolm Duncan – saxophone
  • Molly Duncan – saxophone
  • Martin Jourard – saxophone
  • William Bergman – horn, tenor saxophone, sound effects, backing vocals
  • Dick Braun – trumpet, horn, sound effects, backing vocals
  • John Berry, Jr. – trumpet, horn, sound effects
  • Dave Plews – trumpet
  • Daniel Rothmuller – clarinet, cello
  • Jerry Hey– horn, horn conductor
  • Richard Manuel– vocals, harmony vocals
  • Julia Tillman Waters – vocals
  • Maxine Waters – vocals
  • Stephanie Spruill – vocals
  • Clydene Jackson – vocals
  • Sharon Celani – vocals
  • Maxine Willard Waters – vocals
  • Marilyn Martin– vocals
  • Kurt McGettrick – vocals, horn, sound effects
  • Jack Nitzsche– string arrangement
  • David Bianco – engineer
  • Joel Fein – engineer
  • Alan “Bugs” Weidel – engineer
  • Shelly Yakus– engineer, remix
  • Don Smith – engineer, remix
  • Stephen Marcussen – mastering
  • Winslow Homer – artwork, cover painting
  • Tommy Steele – art direction, design
  • Steele Works – design
  • Steve Breitborde – photography
  • Dennis Keeley – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Tom Petty, except where noted.

  1. Rebels
  2. It Ain’t Nothin’ to Me – Tom Petty, Dave Stewart
  3. Don’t Come Around Here No More – Tom Petty, Dave Stewart\
  4. Southern Accents
  5. Make It Better (Forget About Me) – Tom Petty, Dave Stewart
  6. Spike
  7. Dogs on the Run – Tom Petty, Mike Campbell
  8. Mary’s New Car
  9. The Best of Everything

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.