On March 23 , 1970.

Leon Russell

On March 23, 1970, “Shelter Records” released Leon Russell self-titled debut solo album. It was recorded September 1969 – January 1970, and was produced by Leon Russell.


  • Leon Russell – vocals, piano, guitar, bass guitar
  • Mick Jagger- vocals
  • Bonnie Bramlett- vocals
  • Joe Cocker- vocals
  • Merry Clayton- vocals
  • Eric Clapton- guitar
  • George Harrison- guitar
  • Delaney Bramlett- guitar
  • Steve Winwood- keyboards
  • Chris Stainton- keyboards
  • Klaus Voormann- bass guitar
  • Alan Spenner- bass guitar
  • Bill Wyman- bass guitar
  • Charlie Watts- drums
  • Ringo Starr- drums
  • Buddy Harman- drums
  • Jim Gordon- drums
  • J. Wilson- drums
  • Jim Horn- saxophone
  • Glyn Johns- engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Leon Russell, except where noted.

  1. A Song for You
  2. Dixie Lullaby – Leon Russell, Chris Stainton
  3. I Put a Spell on You
  4. Shoot Out on the Plantation
  5. Hummingbird
  6. Delta Lady
  7. Prince of Peace – Leon Russell, Greg Dempsey
  8. Give Peace a Chance – Leon Russell, Bonnie Bramlett
  9. Hurtsome Body
  10. Pisces Apple Lady
  11. Roll Away the Stone – Leon Russell, Greg Dempsey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.