On March 9, 1999.


On March 9, 1999, “Point Black” label released “Back on Top”, the twenty-seventh Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded in 1998, at “Wool Hall Studios” in Beckington, and was produced by Van Morrison. The photograph of Morrison on the inside of the album cover, was originally used for the front cover of Peter Handke’s book “My Year in the No-Man’s-Bay”, first published in 1994.


  • Van Morrison– vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, producer
  • Mick Green– acoustic and electric guitars
  • Pee Wee Ellis– soprano, tenor and baritone saxophones, background vocals
  • Matt Holland – trumpet
  • Geraint Watkins– piano, Hammond organ
  • Fiachra Trench– piano
  • Ian Jennings – double bass
  • Liam Bradley – drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Bobby Irwin – drums
  • Brian Kennedy– background vocals
  • Irish Film Orchestra – strings
  • Leo Green- tenor saxophone
  • Jools Holland- piano
  • Mike Sanchez- piano, guitar
  • Brad Wilson, Paul Cox, John Mintoft – photography
  • Matt Curtis – photography, art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison, except where noted.

  1. Goin’ Down Geneva
  2. Philosopher’s Stone
  3. In the Midnight
  4. Back on Top
  5. When the Leaves Come Falling Down
  6. High Summer
  7. Reminds Me of You
  8. New Biography
  9. Precious Time
  10. Golden Autumn Day



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.