On March 2, 1973.


On March 2, 1973, “Warner Bros” label released “The Captain and Me”, the third Doobie Brothers studio album. It was recorded in 1972-and early 1973, at “Warner Brothers Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Ted Templeman. The album was certified 2x Platinum in the US by the “RIAA”.

• Tom Johnston – vocals, guitars, harmonica
• Patrick Simmons – vocals, guitars, synthesizer
• Tiran Porter – vocals, bass
• John Hartman – vocals, drums, percussion
• Michael Hossack – drums, congas, cymbals, timbales
• Bill Payne – piano, organ, keyboards
• Jeffrey ‘Skunk’ Baxter – guitar, pedal steel guitar, steel guitar
• Ted Templeman – percussion
• Nick DeCaro – strings arrangemens
• Barbara Casado – design
• Jill Maggid – phptpgraphy
• Ed Thrasher – art direction
• Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff – ARP programming

Track listing
1. Natural Thing – Tom Johnston
2. Long Train Runnin’ – Tom Johnston
3. China Grove – Tom Johnston
4. Dark Eyed Cajun Woman – Tom Johnston
5. Clear as the Driven Snow – Patrick Simmons
6. Without You – John Hartman, Michael Hossack, Tom Johnston, Tiran Porter, Patrick Simmons
7. South City Midnight Lady Patrick Simmons
8. Evil Woman – Patrick Simmons
9. Busted Down Around O’Connelly Corners – James Earl Luft
10. Ukiah – Tom Johnston
11. The Captain and Me – Tom Johnston

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.