On February 27, 1984.


On February 27, 1984, “EMI” label released “The Works”, the eleventh Queen studio album. It was recorded August 1983 – January 1984, at at the “Record Plant Studios” in Los Angeles and “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Freddie Mercury, Brian May, Roger Taylor, John Deacon and Reinhold Mack.


  • Freddie Mercury – lead and backing vocals,  piano,  keyboards, sampler
  • Brian May – lead and backing vocals, lead and acoustic guitars
  • Roger Taylor – drums, electronic drums, backing vocals, keyboards, Vocoder, sampler and programming
  • John Deacon – bass guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocals, keyboards and programming
  • Fred Mandel – keyboards, sampler
  • Reinhold Mack – Fairlight CMI programming
  • Bill Smith – design
  • George Hurrell: photography

Track listing:

  1. Radio Ga Ga – Roger Taylor
  2. Tear it Up – Brian May
  3. It’s a Hard Life – Freddie Mercury
  4. Man on the Prowl – Freddie Mercury
  5. Machines – Brian May, Roger Taylor
  6. I Want to Break Free – John Deacon
  7. Keep Passing the Open Windows – Freddie Mercury
  8. Hammer to Fall – Brian May
  9. Is This the World We Created…? – Freddie Mercury, Brian May

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.