On February 18, 1986.


On February 18, 1986, “Asylum” released “Lives in the Balance”, the Jackson Browne eighth album. It was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Jackson Browne.


  • Jackson Browne – acoustic guitar,  guitar,  piano,  keyboards, vocals, harmony vocals, gut string guitar, vocoder
  • Jorge Calderón– bass, vocals, harmony vocals, gut string guitar
  • Phil Chen– bass
  • Jennifer Condos – bass
  • Quique Cruz – percussion, zampona
  • Deborah Dobkin – vocals, harmony vocals, gut string guitar
  • Craig Doerge– synthesizer, keyboards
  • Kevin Dukes– guitar
  • Bob Glaub– bass
  • Doug Haywood – bass, vocals
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Phil Kenzie – alto saxophone
  • Danny “Kootch” Kortchmar– guitar, percussion
  • Russ Kunkel– drums
  • Bernie Larsen – organ, guitar, clavinet
  • David Lindley– guitar, violin, steel guitar
  • Steve Lukather– guitar
  • Stan Lynch– drums
  • Kevin McCormick – guitar, vocals, harmony vocals, gut string guitar
  • Ian McLagan– organ, keyboards
  • Gary Myrick – guitar
  • Bill Payne– synthesizer, piano, keyboards
  • Hugo Pedroza – charango, tiple
  • Bonnie Raitt– vocals, harmony vocals, gut string guitar
  • Walfredo Reyes, Jr.– conductor, conga, drum set
  • Mindy Sterling – vocals, gut string guitar, harmony
  • Jorge Strunz – acoustic guitar, guitar, nylon string guitar
  • Rick Vito – guitar, vocals
  • Waddy Wachtel– guitar
  • Ian Wallace– drums
  • Jai Winding – organ, synthesizer, piano, keyboards
  • Dawn Patrol – art direction
  • Jimmy Wachtel– art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Jackson Browne except where noted.

  1. For America
  2. Soldier of Plenty
  3. In the Shape of a Heart
  4. Candy – Greg Copeland, Wally Stocker
  5. Lawless Avenues – Jackson Browne, Jorge Calderon
  6. Lives in the Balance
  7. Till I Go Down
  8. Black and White


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.