On February 17, 1978.


On February 17, 1978, “Bright” label released “Crossing the Red Sea with The Adverts”, the debut Adverts studio album. It  was recorded in 1977, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by John Leckie. In 2003, “Mojo” magazine ranked “Crossing the Red Sea with the Adverts” at  number 17 on its list of the “50 greatest punk albums”. The album was featured in “The Guardian’s” list “1000 Albums to Hear Before You Die”.


  • T.V. Smith– vocals
  • Gaye Advert– vocals, bass guitar
  • Howard Pickup – vocals, guitar
  • Laurie Driver – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by T.V. Smith.

  1. One Chord Wonders
  2. Bored Teenagers
  3. New Church
  4. On the Roof
  5. New Boys
  6. Bombsite Boy
  7. No Time to be 21
  8. Safety in Numbers
  9. Drowning Man
  10. On Wheels
  11. Great British Mistake




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.