On January 31, 1972.

Lets stay together

On January 31, 1972, “Hi” label released “Let’s Stay Together”, album by Al Green. It was recorded in 1971, at “Royal Recording Studio” in Memphis and was produced by Willie Mitchell. Magazine “Q” included “Let’s Stay Together” in its list of “Best Soul Albums of All Time”. in 1994 “Guinness” ranked the album at number 608 in its “1000 album poll” and at number 25 in the “Top 50 Soul Albums list”.


  • Al Green – vocals
  • Teenie Hodges- guitar
  • Charles Hodges- organ, piano
  • Leroy Hodges- bass
  • Howard Grimes- drums
  • Al Jackson Jr.– drums
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • Andrew Love- horn, tenor saxophone
  • Ed Logan – horn, tenor saxophone
  • James Mitchell – bass, baritone saxophone, arrangements
  • Jack Hale – trombone
  • Charles Chalmers, Donna Rhodes, Sandra Rhodes – backing vocals, arrangements
  • Jools DeVere – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Green, except where noted

  1. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green, Wayne Jackson, James Mitchell
  2. La-La for You – Al Green, James Mitchell
  3. So You’re Leaving
  4. What Is This Feeling?
  5. Old Time Lovin
  6. I’ve Never Found a Girl (Who Loves Me Like You Do) – Floyd, Isbell, Jones
  7. How Can You Mend a Broken Heart? – Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb
  8. Judy
  9. It Ain’t No Fun to Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.