On January 25, 1970.


On January 25, 1970, “Dunhill” label released “John Phillips (John, the Wolf King of L.A.)”, the debut John Phillips solo album. It was recorded in 1969, and was produced by Lou Adler.


  • John Phillips- vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Buddy Emmons- pedal steel
  • James Burton- guitar, dobro
  • Red Rhodes- steel guitar
  • Darlene Love- vocals
  • Fanita James – vocals
  • Jean King – vocals
  • Gordon Terry- fiddle, violin
  • Hal Blaine- drums
  • David Cohen – guitar
  • Eric Hord – guitar
  • Larry Knechtel- keyboards
  • Joe Osborn- bass
  • Tom Gundelfinger – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Phillips, except where noted.

  1. April Anne
  2. Topanga Canyon
  3. Malibu People
  4. Someone’s Sleeping
  5. Drum
  6. Captain
  7. Let It Bleed, Genevieve
  8. Down the Beach
  9. Mississippi
  10. Holland Tunnel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.