On January 24, 1990.

Black Crowes Shake Your Money maker

On January 24, 1990, “Def American Recordings” released “Shake Your Money Maker”, the debut The Black Crowes album.  It was named after an Elmore James’s classic blues song and was recorded in 1989, at the “Soundscape Studios” in Atlanta; “Chapel Studios”, “Paramount Studios” and “Grandmaster Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by George Drakoulias. “Shake Your Money Maker” is the Black Crowes’ best selling album, having sold more than 5 million copies.


  • Chris Robinson– vocals
  • Rich Robinson– guitar
  • Jeff Cease– guitar
  • Johnny Colt– bass guitar
  • Steve Gorman– drums
  • Chuck Leavell– piano, organ
  • Brendan O’Brien– “a potpourri of instruments”
  • Laura Creamer– background vocals
  • Michael Lavine – photography
  • Ruth Leitman – photography, cover photo
  • Alan Forbes – artwork, art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Chris Robinson and Rich Robinson, except where noted.

  1. Twice As Hard
  2. Jealous Again
  3. Sister Luck
  4. Could I’ve Been So Blind
  5. Seeing Things
  6. Hard to Handle – Allen Jones, Alvertis Isbell, Otis Redding
  7. Thick n’ Thin
  8. She Talks to Angels
  9. Struttin’ Blues
  10. Stare It Cold
  11. Live Too Fast Blues/Mercy, Sweet Moan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.