On January 23, 2007.


On January 23, 2007, “Sub Pop” label released “Wincing the Night Away”, the third The Shins album.  It was recorded in 2005 and 2006, at James Mercer’s basement studio, Phil Ek’s home in Seattle and in Oregon City, and was produced by James Mercer and Joe Chiccarelli.


  • James Mercer– vocals, guitar, bass guitar, synthesizers, ukelele, banjo, cat piano, percussion, beat and MIDI programming
  • Marty Crandall– synthesizers, organ, bass guitar, percussion
  • Dave Hernandez– lead guitar
  • Jesse Sandoval– drums
  • Chris Funk– lap steel guitar , hammered dulcimer, bouzouki
  • Eric D. Johnson– backing vocals, piano
  • Anita Robinson – backing vocals
  • Paloma Griffin – violin
  • Niels Gallaway – French horn
  • Robert Mercer – illustration, design

Track listing:

All tracks by James Mercer.

  1. Sleeping Lessons
  2. Australia
  3. Pam Berry
  4. Phantom Limb
  5. Sea Legs
  6. Red Rabbits
  7. Turn On Me
  8. Black Wave
  9. Split Needles
  10. Girl Sailor
  11. A Comet Appears

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.