On January 20, 2009.

Aj the crying light

On January 20, 2009,“Matador” label released “The Crying Light”, the third Antony and the Johnsons’ studio album. It was recorded in 2008, and was produced by Antony Hegarty. The album’s cover artwork features a 1977 photograph of butoh dancer Kazuo Ohno, by Naoya Ikegami.


  • Antony – vocals, arranger
  • Thomas Bartlett, Greg Cohen, Will Holshouser, Wil Holzhouser, Julia Kent, Parker Kindred, Jeff Langston, Rob Moose, William Whittman – musicians
  • Maxim Moston, Doug Wieselman – arranger, musician
  • Nico Muhly – arranger
  • Hiroko Taguchi, Antoine Silverman, Sarah Hewitt Ruth, Susan Perelman, Brian Miller, Alexandra Knoll, Bridget Kibbey, Danielle Farina, Keith Bonner, Lisa Albrecht, Tim Albright, Leise Anschuetz, Anja Wood, Amy Zoloto – orchestra
  • Dan Bora, Hector Castillo, Keith Gary, Scott Lehrer, Stewart Lerman, Alex Nizich, William Whittman – engineer
  • Bryce Goggin – engineer, mixing
  • Jason Lader – mixing
  • Greg Calbi – mastering, remastering
  • Don Felix Cervantes – photography
  • Daniel Murphy – layout design
  • Johanna Constantine – make –up
  • Naoya Ikegami – portraits

Track listing:

All tracks by Antony Hegarty, except where noted.

  1. Her Eyes Are Underneath the Ground – Antony Hegarty, Nick Hegarty
  2. Epilepsy Is Dancing
  3. One Dove – Antony Hegarty, Barry Reynolds
  4. Kiss My Name
  5. The Crying Light
  6. Another World
  7. Daylight and the Sun
  8. Aeon
  9. Dust and Water
  10. Everglade



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.