Jackson Browne: Running on Empty


On December 6, 1977, “Asylum” label released “Running on Empty”, the fifth Jackson Browne album. It was recorded August – September 1977, and was produced by Jackson Browne.


  • Jackson Browne – lead vocals, guitar, piano
  • David Lindley– co-lead vocals, lap steel guitar, fiddle
  • Danny Kortchmar– lead guitar, harmony vocals
  • Craig Doerge– piano, keyboards
  • Russ Kunkel– drums, snare drum, cardboard box, hi hat
  • Leland Sklar– bass
  • Rosemary Butler– co-lead vocal and backing vocals
  • Doug Haywood – backing vocals
  • Joel Bernstein– backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Running on Empty – Jackson Browne
  2. The Road – Danny O’Keefe
  3. Rosie – Jackson Browne, Donald Miller
  4. You Love the Thunder – Jackson Browne
  5. Cocaine – Reverend Gary Davis, additional lyrics by Jackson Browne, Glenn Frey
  6. Shaky Town – Danny Kortchmar
  7. Love Needs a Heart – Jackson Browne, Valerie Carter, Lowell George
  8. Nothing but Time – Jackson Browne, Howard Burke
  9. The Load-Out – Jackson Browne, Bryan Garofalo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.