On November 27, 1970.


On November 27,1970, “Vertigo” label released self titled Gentle Giant debut album. It was recorded in August 1970, at the “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Gary Green– lead and12 string guitar, backing vocals
  • Kerry Minnear– lead and backing vocals, Hammond organ, Minimoog, Mellotron, piano, tympani, xylophone, vibraphone, cellos, bass
  • Derek Shulman– lead and backing vocals, bass
  • Phil Shulman– lead and backing vocals, trumpet, alto and tenor  saxophones, descant
  • Ray Shulman- bass, electric and acoustic guitar, violins, triangle, backing vocals
  • Martin Smith– drums, brushed snare drum
  • Paul Cosh –tenor horn
  • Claire Deniz – cello

Track listing:

  1. Giant – Derek Shuman
  2. Funny Ways – Phil Shuman, Derek Shuman
  3. Alucard – Phil Shuman, Derek Shulman, Kerry Minhear
  4. Isn’t It Quiet and Cold – Phil Shulman
  5. Nothing at All – Derek Shulman
  6. Why Not – Derek Shuman, Kerry Minnear
  7. The Queen – Phil Shuman, Ray Shuman, Kerry Minnear

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.