On October 10, 1969.

Hot Rats

On October 10, 1969, “Bizarre” label released “Hot Rats”, the first  Frank Zappa album. It was recorded July- August 1969, at the “T.T.G” and “Sunset Sound” in Los Angeles, “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– guitar, octave bass, percussion
  • Captain Beefheart– vocals
  • Lowell George– rhythm guitar
  • Ian Underwood – piano, Organus Maximus, saxophones, flute, clarinets
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Shuggie Otis– bass
  • Ron Selico – drums
  • Paul Humphrey– drums
  • John Guerin– drums
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– violin
  • Jean-Luc Ponty– violin

All tracks by Frank Zappa.

  1. Peaches en Regalia
  2. Willie the Pimp
  3. Son of Mr. Green Genes
  4. Little Umbrellas
  5. The Gumbo Variations
  6. It must be a Camel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.