On September 30, 1985.

Rain Dogs

On September 30, 1985, “Island Records” released “Rain Dogs” , the eighth Tom Waits album. The middle album of the trilogy that includes “Swordfishtrombones” and “Franks Wild Years”, was recorded at the “RCA Studios” and was produced by Tom Waits. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Rain Dogs” at  number 397 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Tom Waits– vocals , guitar, organ, piano ,pump organ, harmonium, banjo
  • Marc Ribot– guitar
  • Chris Spedding– guitar
  • Robert Quine– guitar
  • Smith– guitar
  • Keith Richards– guitar, backing vocals
  • Robert Musso – banjo
  • Robby Kilgore – organ
  • William Schimmel– accordion
  • Tony Levin– bass
  • Tony Garnier– double bass
  • Larry Taylor– double bass , bass
  • Greg Cohen– double bass
  • Michael Blair – percussion, marimba, drums, congas, bowed saw, parade drum
  • Stephen Hodges– drums , parade drum
  • Mickey Curry– drums
  • Ross Levinson – violin
  • Bobby Previte– percussion, marimba
  • John Lurie– alto saxophone
  • Ralph Carney– baritone saxophone, saxophone, clarinet
  • Arno Hecht – tenor saxophone
  • Crispin Cioe – saxophone
  • “Hollywood” Paul Litteral – trumpet
  • Bob Funk – trombone

Track listing

All tracks by Tom Waits except where noted.

  1. Singapore
  2. Clap Hands
  3. Cemetery Polka
  4. Jockey Full of Bourbon
  5. Tango Till They’re Sore
  6. Big Black Mariah
  7. Diamonds & Gold
  8. Hang Down Your Head – Kathleen Brennan, Tom Waits
  9. Time
  10. Rain Dogs
  11. Midtown
  12. 9th& Hennepin
  13. Gun Street Girl
  14. Union Square
  15. Blind Love
  16. Walking Spanish
  17. Downtown Train
  18. Bride of Rain Dog
  19. Anywhere I Lay My Head

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.