On September 25, 1967.


On September 25, 1967, “Buddah” label released “Safe as Milk, the debut Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band album. It was recorded in April 1967, at the “RCA Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Richard Perry and Bob Krasnow.


  • Don Van Vliet– vocals, bass marimba, harmonica, arrangements, theremin direction
  • Alex St. Clair Snouffer– guitar, bass, percussion, backing vocals
  • Taj Mahal– tambourine, percussion
  • Russ Titelman– guitar
  • Jerry Handley – bass, backing vocals
  • John French– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Ry Cooder– guitar, slide guitar, bass, percussion, arrangements
  • Samuel Hoffman– theremin \
  • Milt Holland– log drum, tambourine, percussion

All tracks by Herb Bermann and Don Van Vliet except where noted.

  1. Sure ‘Nuff ‘n Yes I Do
  2. Zig Zag Wanderer
  3. Call on Me
  4. Dropout Boogie
  5. I’m Glad
  6. Electricity
  7. Yellow Brick Road
  8. Abba Zaba
  9. Plastic Factory – Van Vliet, Herb Bermann, Jerry Handley
  10. Where There’s Woman
  11. Grown So Ugly – Robert Pete Williams
  12. Autumn’s Child

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.