On September 16, 1988.


On September 16, 1988, “Parlaphone” label released “Spirit of Eden”, Talk Talk’s fourth album. Upon its release the album did not received critical acclaim or reached commercial succes, but it gained cult-status over the years and became highly influential.The album was recorded in 1987 and 1988, at the “Wessex Studios”, in London, and was produced by Tim Friese-Greene.


  • Mark Hollis– vocals, piano, organ, guitar
  • Tim Friese-Greene– harmonium, piano, organ, guitar
  • Paul Webb– electric bass guitar
  • Lee Harris– drums
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Robbie McIntosh– dobro, twelve-string guitar
  • Mark Feltham– harmonica
  • Simon Edwards– Mexican bass
  • Danny Thompson– double bass
  • Henry Lowther– trumpet
  • Nigel Kennedy– violin
  • Hugh Davies– shozygs
  • Andrew Stowell – bassoon
  • Michael Jeans – oboe
  • Andrew Marriner– clarinet
  • Christopher Hooker – cor Anglais
  • Choir of Chelmsford Cathedral

Track listing:

All compositions by Tim Friese-Greene and Mark Hollis.

  1. The Rainbow
  2. Eden
  3. Desire
  4. Inheritance
  5. I believe in you
  6. Wealth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.