On September 15, 1972.


On September 15, 1972, “Capitol” label released “Phoenix”, the sixth Grand Funk Railroad studio album. This is first album that was not produced by Terry Knight, it was produced by the band members.


  • Mark Farner- guitar, harmonica, keyboards, vocals
  • Mel Schacher- bass, vocals
  • Don Brewer- drums, congas, percussion, vocals
  • Craig Frost- organ, clavinet, harpsichord, piano, vocals
  • Doug Kershaw- violin, electric fiddle

All tracks by Mark Farner.

  1. Flight of the Phoenix
  2. Trying to Get Away
  3. Someone
  4. She Got to Move Me
  5. Rain Keeps Fallin
  6. I Just Gotta Know
  7. So You Won’t Have to Die
  8. Freedom is for Children
  9. Gotta Find Me a Better Day
  10. Rock & Roll Soul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.