On September 15, 1971.

Cahoots - The Band

On September 15, 1971, “Capitol” label released “Cahoots”, the fourth Band studio album. It was recorded in 1971 at “Bearsville Sound Studio”, in Bearsville, New York, and was produced by Rick Danko, Levon Helm, Garth Hudson, Richard Manuel and Robbie Robertson.


  • Robbie Robertson- guitars, piano
  • Garth Hudson- organ, piano, tenor and baritone saxophones
  • Richard Manuel- vocals, piano, drums, organ, slide guitar
  • Rick Danko- vocals, bass
  • Levon Helm- vocals, drums, mandolin, upright bass
  • Allen Toussaint- brass arrangements
  • Van Morrison- vocals
  • Libby Titus- backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Robbie Robertson, except where noted.

  1. Life is a Carnival – Levon Helm, Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko
  2. When I Paint My Masterpiece – Bob Dylan
  3. Last of the Blacksmiths
  4. Where Do We Go From Here
  5. 4% Pantomime – Robbie Robertson, Van Morrison
  6. Shoot Out in Chinatown
  7. The Moon Struck One
  8. Thinkin’ Out Loud
  9. Smoke Signal
  10. Volcano
  11. The River Hymn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.